top of page
Search
  • ahuh8361

Fourth Blog Post (Feb. 15)

This week, I haven’t played the guitar that much, but I plan on playing it today. My mentor told me to continue practicing changing chords because it was an important thing to master. Also, I was bored with playing the same things over and over again, so I decided to practice soloing on the guitar. I searched videos online and tried them for myself. It was a little more difficult than I thought, but I wasn’t really surprised because it was my first time soloing and I knew that it was just going to get more difficult as I progress. I also slightly learned how to play Megalovania, a song from the video game Undertale. It's actually quite famous. I wasn’t planning to learn it previously, but when I was on the internet, the song came out in a video. It was really nice and the idea of learning it a little popped up in my head, and so I gave it a shot. This was when I learned that I really lacked picking skills. By picking, I mean using the guitar pick to pick the chords one by one. This is mostly used when soloing, fingerstyling, or playing the melody. Megalovania is quite a fast song and so it needs fast picking, but I couldn’t play it well because of the fast picking and transitions. The video at the bottom is the song. This is the original version, but there are many electric guitar covers as well. At this rate, I still think that I will be able to finish half of the song by March 1, but I need to start fast or else I might not be able to meet this midpoint goal either. Thank you for reading and have a great day!!


16 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page